Shelves

Posted: August 9, 2023 in Uncategorized
I carry my past heartaches
like participation trophies. That's a thing now right? Everyone gets one for playing along. Even the losers get one just for showing up. But they're all plain aren't they? Cookie cutter statues so no one can complain.

While mine are all unique and different.
etched with the names of each one of the people who made promises they didn't keep,
Who stuck knives between my shoulder blades,
Who helped teach me how hard I am to love

Mine carry the stories of loss and feelings of abandonment that have broken my heart over and over and over again.
The same lines again and again and the truth is not among them or even between them
I've read them all and could recite them for you like a sonnet.

I'm not looking for a love story. I can write my own, not a pledge made with your right hand in the air, or an oath sworn and attested to.

I guess maybe
I just need someone
To help me build a shelf.

Leave a comment